Girls Varsity Swimming · Girls Varsity Swimming finishes 3rd place at MIC Championship

  Place Points
North Central High School 3rd 354

The North Central Swimming & Diving team turned in a solid performance over the weekend at the MIC Championships. Both the boys and girls finished in third place behind Carmel and runner-up Center Grove.

The girls were led by sophomore Emily Buening who had a team high fourth place individual finish in the 500 Freestyle and added a fifth place in the 200 IM. Senior Alani Hightower (100 Freestyle), junior Eleanor Reno (200 Freestyle), junior Reagan Shaar (100 Butterfly), junior Aisha Tashpulatova (100 Breaststroke) and sophomore Lily Wolfe (500 Freestyle) each picked up a sixth place finish. Senior Elizabeth Chamness (Diving), freshman Madelyn Harvey (100 Freestyle) and senior Emma Horton (200 Freestyle) picked up seventh place finishes as did Hightower (200 IM), Reno (100 Butterfly) and Shaar (100 Backstroke). Senior Lauren Diercks finished eighth in the 100 Backstroke. Diercks, Hightower, Horton and Reno were MIC runners-up in the 200 Freestyle Relay. The 200 Medley Relay team of Diercks, Harvey, Hightower and Tashpulatova and the 400 Freestyle Relay team of Buening, Harvey, Horton and Reno finished in third place.

Additional scoring performances for the Panthers were turned in by the following athletes:

Girls 200 Freestyle – Sophomore Ava Shepard (12th)
Boys 200 Freestyle – Footman (13th)
Girls 200 IM – Tashpulatova (11th)
Girls 50 Freestyle – Junior Kate Peterson (10th), Diercks (14th), sophomore Dillon Horsley (15th)
Boys 50 Freestyle – Senior Jack Isakson (14th)
Diving – Senior Libbie Waterman (9th), senior Isabella Chamness (12th)
Girls 100 Butterfly – Wolfe (9th)
Boys 100 Butterfly – Goetz (10th)
Girls 100 Freestyle – Shepard (13th)
Boys 100 Freestyle – Footman (10th), junior Caleb Dooley (12th)
Girls 500 Freestyle – Horton (9th)
Boys 500 Freestyle – Freshman Zander Moreno (10th)
Girls 100 Backstroke – Harvey (9th)
Girls 100 Breaststroke – Horsley (10th), sophomore Olivia Bourquein (12th)
Boys 100 Breaststroke – Marshall (9th)